Skip Navigation

5th Principal Investigators Meeting

5th Principal Investigators Meeting
Innovative Molecular Analysis Technologies Program
June 28-30, 2004
Catamaran Resort Hotel
San Diego, California

Participant Roster

Joanna Albala, Ph.D.
Senior Medical Scientist
Department of Cancer Biology
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
44 Binney Street, SM858
Boston, MA 02115
Telephone: 617-632-3374
Fax: 617-632-5739
E-mail: albala1@llnl.gov
Wadih Arap, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Genitourinary Medical Oncology
University of Texas, M. D. Anderson
Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe Boulevard, Room T7.3970 Houston, TX 77030
Telephone: 713-792-3871
Fax: 713-745-2999
E-mail: warap@mdanderson.org
Donna Albertson, Ph.D.
Professor Cancer Research Institute University of California-San Francisco
Box 0808 San Francisco, CA 94143-0808 Telephone: 415-502-8463
Fax: 415-476-8218
E-mail: albertson@cc.ucsf.edu
Annelise Barron, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering Northwestern University
2145 Sheridan Road, Room E136
Evanston, IL 60208-3120
Telephone: 847-491-2778
Fax: 847-491-3728
E-mail: a-barron@northwestern.edu
Nancy Allbritton, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Physiology & Biophysics University of California-Irvine
Medical Sciences I, Mail Code 4560
Irvine, CA 92697
Telephone: 949-824-6493
Fax: 949-824-8540
E-mail: nlallbri@uci.edu
Xiaoai Chen, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
Pathology Department
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
1300 York Avenue, C417
New York, NY 10021
Telephone: 212-746-6425
Fax: 212-746-4483
E-mail: chenxa70@yahoo.com
Ruth Angeletti, Ph.D.
Professor
Laboratory for Macromolecular Analysis and Proteomics
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue 405 Ullmann/LMAP
Bronx, NY 10461
Telephone: 718-430-3475
Fax: 718-430-8939
E-mail: angelett@aecom.yu.edu
Jesus Ching, Ph.D.
Director of Research & Development
Biotechnology Department Cepheid, Inc.
904 Caribbean Drive
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Telephone: 408-400-8313
Fax: 408-734-1260
E-mail: jesus@cepheid.com
Colin Collins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Cancer Research Institute
University of California-San Francisco
Box 0808
San Francisco, CA 94143-0808
Telephone: 415-502-7065
Fax: 415-476-8218
E-mail: collins@cc.ucsf.edu
Thomas Deisboeck, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Radiology Department
Massachusetts General Hospital,
Harvard Medical School Complex
Biosystems Modeling Laboratory;
Harvard-MIT (HST)
Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging
MGH-East (Room 2301); Building 149;
13th Street
Charlestown, MA 02129
Telephone: 617-724-1845
Fax: 617-726-5079
E-mail: deisboec@helix.mgh.harvard.edu
Dale S. Cornett, Ph.D.
Research Instructor
Biochemistry Department
Vanderbilt University
9160 MRB III 465 21st Avenue South Nashville, TN 37232
Telephone: 615-343-8436
Fax: 615-343-8372
E-mail: shannon.cornett@vanderbilt.edu
Gregory Downing, Ph.D.
Director Office of Technology & Industrial Relations National Cancer Institute
31 Center Drive - MSC 2580
Room 10A52
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-496-1550
Fax: 301-496-7807
E-mail: downingg@mail.nih.gov
Jennifer Couch, Ph.D.
Program Director
Structure Biology and Molecular Applications Branch
National Cancer Institute
6130 Executive Boulevard, Suite 5005A Rockville, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-435-5226
Fax: 301-480-2854
E-mail: jc332a@nih.gov
Karl Dykema Bioinformatics Programmer/Analyst Bioinformatics Department
Van Andel Research Institute
333 Bostwick Avenue NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Telephone: 616-234-5554
Fax: 616-234-5559
E-mail: karl.dykema@vai.org
Kathleen Danenberg President and CEO
Response Genetics Inc.
1640 Marengo St., #620
Los Angeles, CA 90033
Telephone: 323-224-3900
Fax: 323-244-3906
E-mail: danenberg@responsegenetics.com
Travis Earles Technology Development Program Specialist
Office of Technology & Industrial Relations
Office of the Director
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
31 Center Drive, MSC 2580,
Room 10A52
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-496-1550
Fax: 301-496-7807
E-mail: earlestr@mail.nih.gov
Brian Davis, Ph.D.
Research Associate
Cancer Center Ordway Research Institute 150 New Scotland Avenue
Albany, NY 12208
Telephone: 518-641-6485
Fax: 518-641-6305
E-mail: bdavis@ordwayresearch.org
Jian-Bing Fan, Ph.D.
Director Genetic Analysis
Illumina, Inc.
9885 Towne Centre Drive
San Diego, CA 92121
Telephone: 858-202-4588
Fax: 858-202-4680
E-mail: jfan@illumina.com
Mariano Garcia-Blanco, M.D., Ph.D. Professor
Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Duke University Medical Center
424 CARL Research Drive
Durham, NC 27710
Telephone: 919-613-8632
Fax: 919-613-8646
E-mail: garci001@mc.duke.edu

Maxim Frank-Kamenetskii, Ph.D.
Professor Biomedical Engineering Department Boston University Center for Advanced Biotechnology 36 Cummington Street
Boston, MA 02215
Telephone: 617-353-8500
Fax: 617-353-8501
E-mail: mfk@bu.edu

Sherwood Githens, Ph.D.
Review Administrator
Special Review and Logistics Branch Division of Extramural Activities
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
6116 Executive Boulevard, Room 8053, MC8329 Bethesda, MD 20892-8329 Telephone: 301-435-1822
Fax: 301-442-0742
E-mail: githenss@mail.nih.gov
Kyle Furge, Ph.D.
Bioinformatics Scientist
Bioinformatics Department
Van Andel Research Institute
333 Bostwick Avenue NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Telephone: 616-234-5530
Fax: 616-234-5531
E-mail: kyle.furge@vai.org
Val Golovlev, Ph.D.
Director of Research & Development
Sci-Tec, Inc.
10425 Cogdill Road, #300
Knoxville, TN 37932
Telephone: 865-671-2166
Fax: 865-671-2167
E-mail: golovlev@scien-tec.com
Bernard Futscher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology
Arizona Cancer Center,
University of Arizona
1515 North Campbell Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85724
Telephone: 520-626-4646
Fax: 520-626-2415
E-mail: bfutscher@azcc.arizona.edu
David Goodlett, BS, MS, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Medicinal Chemistry University of Washington HSB H-165
Box 357610
1959 NE Pacific Street
Seattle, WA 98195
Telephone: 206-616-4586
Fax: 206-685-3252
E-mail: goodlett@u.washington.edu
Dan Gallahan, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Structure Biology and Molecular Applications Branch National Cancer Institute
6130 Executive Boulevard,
Suite 5005A
Rockville, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-435-5226
Fax: 301-480-2854
E-mail: dg13w@nih.gov
Martin Guthold, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Physics Department
Wake Forest University
Reynolda Station 7507
Winston-Salem, NC 27109
Telephone: 336-758-4977
Fax: 336-758-6142
E-mail: gutholdm@wfu.edu
Daniel Knapp, Ph.D.
Professor
Pharmacology Department
Medical University of South Carolina
173 Ashley Avenue, BSB 303
Charleston, SC 29425
Telephone: 843-792-5830
Fax: 843-792-2475
E-mail: knappdr@musc.edu
Daryl Hoskins, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
Department of Veterinary Pathobiology University of Minnesota
212 Animal Sci/Vet Med
1988 Fitch Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
Telephone: 612-624-4994
Fax: 612-625-0204
E-mail: hoski003@tc.umn.edu
Eric Knoll Graduate Student
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Saint Louis University
1402 South Grand Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63104
Telephone: 314-977-9237
Fax: 314-577-8156
E-mail: knolled@slu.edu
Pamela Howland
Program Manager
Advanced Technology Group Cepheid, Inc. 904 Caribbean Drive
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Telephone: 408-400-8236
Fax: 408-541-4192
E-mail: howland@cepheid.com
Randy Knowlton, Ph.D.
Program Director
Structure Biology and Molecular Applications Branch National Cancer Institute
6130 Executive Boulevard,
Suite 5005A
Rockville, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-435-5226
Fax: 301-480-2854
E-mail: jk339o@nih.gov
Tim Huang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Human Cancer Genetics
The Ohio State University
420 West 12th Street, Room 514 Columbus, OH 43210
Telephone: 614-688-8277
Fax: 614-292-5995
E-mail: huang-10@medctr.osu.edu
Stephen Kron, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology The University of Chicago Center for Molecular Oncology
924 East 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60637
Telephone: 773-834-0250
Fax: 773-702-4394
E-mail: skron@uchicago.edu
Jaroslav Jelinek, M.D., Ph.D.
Instructor Leukemia
University of Texas,
M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe Boulevard, Unit 428 Houston, TX 77030
Telephone: 713-745-3931
Fax: 713-745-1683
E-mail: jjelinek@mdanderson.org
Katharine Ku
Director
Office of Technology Licensing
Stanford University
1705 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94306
Telephone: 650-723-0651
Fax: 650-725-7295
E-mail: kathy.ku@stanford.edu
Victor Levenson, M.D., Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center
Northwestern University
710 North Fairbanks Court Olson 8-424 Chicago, IL 60611
Telephone: 312-503-2435
Fax: 312-503-3063
E-mail: levenson@northwestern.edu
Dale Larson, M.S.M.E.
Director Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology (BCMP)
Technology & Engineering Center
Harvard Medical School
240 Longwood Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
Telephone: 617-432-6171
Fax: 617-432-1889
E-mail: dlarson@hms.harvard.edu
Honghua Li, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Genetics, Microbiology & Immunology
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey CINJ,
195 Little Albany Street
New Brunswick, NJ 8903
Telephone: 732-235-7330
Fax: 732-235-8073
E-mail: holi@umdnj.edu
Wendy Law, Ph.D.
Scientific Liaison Office of the Director
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave. North, J2-116
P.O. Box 19024
Seattle, WA 98109-1024
Telephone: 206-667-1118
Fax: 206-667-7792
E-mail: wlaw@fhcrc.org
Charles Lieber, Ph.D.
Mark Hyman Professor of Chemistry Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
Harvard University
12 Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Telephone: 617-496-3169
Fax: 617-496-5442
E-mail: cml@cmliris.harvard.edu
Cheng Lee, Ph.D.
CEO
Calibrant Biosystems
7507 Standish Place
Rockville, MD 20855
Telephone: 301-424-2320 ext. 11
Fax: 301-424-2462
E-mail: cheng.lee@calibrant.com
Qiang Liu, M.D.
Associate Research Scientist
Department of Molecular Genetics
City of Hope Cancer Center
1500 East Duarte Road
Duarte, CA 91010
Telephone: 626-359-8111
Fax: 626-301-8142
E-mail: sommeradmin@coh.org
Stephen Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
The Ohio State University
473 West 12th Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43210
Telephone: 614-292-2833
Fax: 614-247-7799
E-mail: lee@bme.ohio-state.edu
Paul Lizardi, Ph.D.
Professor
Pathology Department
Yale University Medical School
310 Cedar Street
New Haven, CT 06510
Telephone: 203-785-5107
Fax: 203-785-7303
E-mail: paul.lizardi@yale.edu
Karen Maurey
Acting Chief
Technology Transfer Branch
National Cancer Institute
6120 Executive Boulevard,
Suite 450
Rockville, MD 20852
Telephone: 301-496-0477
Fax: 301-402-2117
E-mail: maureyk@mail.nih.gov
Tracy Lugo, Ph.D.
Program Director
Diagnostic Research Branch
Division of Cancer Treatment & Diagnosis National Cancer Institute
6130 Executive Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301-496-1591
Fax: 301-402-7819
E-mail: lugot@mail.nih.gov
Suzanne Miyamoto, Ph.D.
Assistant Research Biochemist
Department of Internal Medicine
University of California-Davis
UC Davis Cancer Center,
Division of Hematology/Oncology
4501 X Street,
Suite 3016
Sacramento, CA 95817
Telephone: 916-734-3769
Fax: 916-734-4615
E-mail: smiyamot@ucdavis.edu
Arun Majumdar, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-1740
Telephone: 510-643-8199
Fax: 510-642-6163
E-mail: majumdar@me.berkeley.edu
Ed Monachino, M.S.E.E.
Assistant Director for Technology
Office of Technology & Industrial Relations
National Cancer Institute
Building 31, Room 10A49
31 Center Drive, MSC 2580
Bethesda, MD 20892-2580
Telephone: 301-496-1550
Fax: 301-496-7807
E-mail: monachie@mail.nih.gov
Sergei Makarov, Ph.D.
CEO
Attagene, Inc.
P.O. Box 12054
7030 Kit Creek Road
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709 Telephone: 919-313-0167
Fax: 919-313-0172
E-mail: smak@attagene.com
Dobrin Nedelkov, Ph.D.
Director Research and Technology Development Intrinsic Bioprobes, Inc.
625 South Smith Road,
Suite 22
Tempe, AZ 85281
Telephone: 480-804-1778
Fax: 480-804-0778
E-mail: dnedelkov@intrinsicbio.com
Elizabeth Mansfield, Ph.D.
Scientific Reviewer
Office of in vitro Diagnostic Device Evaluation and Safety Center for Devices and Radiological Health
Food and Drug Administration
2098 Gaither Road HFZ-440
Rockville, MD 20850
Telephone: 301-594-1293
Fax: 301-594-5941
E-mail: eam@cdrh.fda.gov
Paul Radspinner, M.B.A.
Licensing Manager
Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation
614 Walnut Street, 13th Floor
Madison, WI 53726
Telephone: 608-262-3095
Fax: 608-262-6104
E-mail: paul@warf.org
Niroshan Ramachandran, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology (BCMP)
Harvard Institute of Proteomics
Harvard Medical School
320 Charles Street
Cambridge, MA 02141
Telephone: 617-324-0827
Fax: 617-432-2452
E-mail: niroshan@hms.harvard.edu
Beerelli Seshi, M.D.
Head, Hematopathology Pathology Department Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Department of Pathology,
Box 12
1000 West Carson Street
Torrance, CA 90509
Telephone: 310-222-2772
Fax: 310-222-8002
E-mail: BSeshi@rei.edu
Avi Rasooly, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
6130 Executive Boulevard
Rockville, MD 20852
Telephone: 301-402-4185
Fax: 301-402-7819
E-mail: rasoolya@mail.nih.gov
Shan-Rong Shi, M.D.
Associate Professor Pathology Department University of Southern California,
Keck School of Medicine
2011 Zonal Avenue, HMR 310A
Los Angeles, CA 90033
Telephone: 323-442-3399
Fax: 323-442-1154
E-mail: sshi@usc.edu
Jason Sakamoto Graduate Student Department of Biomedical Engineering
The Ohio State University
1080 Carmack Road
Room 270 Bevis Hall
Columbus, OH 43210
Telephone: 614-292-6379
Fax: 614-292-7301
E-mail: sakamoto.13@osu.edu
Christopher Sims, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Physiology & Biophysics
University of California-Irvine D380,
Medical Sciences I
Irvine, CA 92697
Telephone: 949-824-4410
Fax: 949-824-8540
E-mail: cesims@uci.edu
Jan Schnitzer, M.D.
Scientific Director
Department of Vascular Biology and Angiogenesis
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
10835 Altman Row
San Diego, CA 92121
Telephone: 858-450-5990
Fax: 858-450-3251
E-mail: jschnitzer@skcc.org
Steve Sommer, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair and Professor
Department of Molecular Genetics and Molecular Diagnosis
City of Hope Cancer Center
1500 East Duarte Road
Duarte, CA 91010
Telephone: 626-930-5497
Fax: 626-301-8142
E-mail: sommeradmin@coh.org
Steven Soper, Ph.D.
Professor Chemistry Department
Louisiana State University
232 Choppin Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Telephone: 225-578-1527
Fax: 225-578-3458
E-mail: chsope@lsu.edu
Alan Waggoner, Ph.D.
Director Molecular Biosensor and Imaging Center Carnegie Mellon Institute
4400 Fifth Avenue, Room 294
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Telephone: 412-268-3456
Fax: 412-268-6571
E-mail: waggoner@andrew.cmu.edu
David Speicher, Ph.D.
Professor Systems Biology Department
The Wistar Institute
3601 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Telephone: 215-898-3972
Fax: 215-898-0664
E-mail: speicher@wistar.upenn.edu
John Welsh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Biology
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
10835 Altman Row
San Diego, CA 92121
Telephone: 858-450-5990
Fax: 858-450-3251
E-mail: jwelsh@skcc.org
Basil Swanson, Ph.D.
Laboratory Fellow
Bioscience Division
Los Alamos National Laboratory
B-4 Mail Stop J586
Los Alomos, NM 87545
Telephone: 505-667-5814
Fax: 505-667-9611
E-mail: basil@lanl.gov
Peter Wiktor, MS, BS, Ph.D.
Owner
Engineering Arts, Inc.
7236 91st Avenue SE
Mercer Island, WA 98040
Telephone: 206-275-4221
Fax: 206-275-3876
E-mail: wiktor@engineering-arts.com
Clive Taylor, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor Pathology Department
University Southern California,
Keck School of Medicine
2011 Zonal Avenue, HMR 204
Los Angeles, CA 91030
Telephone: 323-442-1180
Fax: 323-442-3314
E-mail: taylor@pathfinder.usc.edu
Cheryl Willman, M.D.
Director and CEO
Cancer Research and Treatment Center
University of New Mexico, School of Medicine 1 University of New Mexico, MSCO8
4630 CRF G-03
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Telephone: 505-272-5622
Fax: 505-272-4039
E-mail: cwillman@unm.edu
Paul Ts'o, Ph.D.
Chief Technology Officer
Cell Works, Inc.
6200 Seaforth Street
Baltimore, MD 21224
Telephone: 410-633-8133
Fax: 410-633-7652
E-mail: paul@cell-works.com
Virgil Woods, Jr., M.D.
Associate Professor Medicine
Department University of California-San Diego 9500 Gilman Drive BSB 5078
La Jolla, CA 92093
Telephone: 858-534-2180
Fax: 858-534-2180
E-mail: vwoods@ucsd.edu
Jeffrey Wyckoff, MFA
Faculty Associate
Department of Anatomy and Structural Biology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue Forchheimer 628 Bronx, NY 10461
Telephone: 718-430-3348
Fax: 718-430-8996
E-mail: jwyckoff@aecom.yu.edu
Pengbo Zhou, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor Pathology Department
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
1300 York Avenue, C458C
New York, NY 10021
Telephone: 212-746-6415
Fax: 212-746-4483
E-mail: chenxa70@yahoo.com