Skip Navigation

2nd Principal Investigators Meeting Participant Roster

2nd Principal Investigators Meeting
Innovative Molecular Analysis Technologies Programs
June 27-29, 2001
Ritz-Carlton
Washington, DC

Participant Roster

Roger Aamodt, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Resources Development Branch
Cancer Diagnosis Program
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: ra32u@nih.gov

Donna Albertson, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco
Fax: 415-476-8218
E-mail: albertson@cc.ucsf.edu

Bryan Alexander, B.S.
Ph.D. Candidate
School of Medicine
University of New Mexico
E-mail: bryalex@aol.com

Leslie Alexandre, Dr.P.H.
Assistant Director for Industrial Relations
Office of Technology and Industrial Relations
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: alexandl@mail.nih.gov

Nancy Allbritton, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of California, Irvine
E-mail: nlallbri@uci.edu

Cynthia Bamdad, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer
Minerva Biotechnologies Corporation
E-mail: monopole@rcoketmail.com

Peter Barker, Ph.D.
Project Leader
National Institute of Standards and Technology
E-mail: peter.barker@nist.gov

Robert Basedow, Ph.D.
Program Manager
BFGoodrich
E-mail: robertwbasedow@raytheon.com

Samuel Beenken, M.D.
Associate Professor
University of Alabama, Birmingham
E-mail: samuel.beenken@ccc.uab.edu

Aaron Bensimon, Ph.D.
Head of Laboratoy
Pasteur Institut
E-mail: abensim@pasteur.fr

Peter Berget, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Carnegie-Mellon University
E-mail: berget@andrew.cmu.edu

Grant A. Bitter, Ph.D.
President, Chief Scientific Officer
BitTech, Inc.
E-mail: gab@bittech.net

Kirby Bland, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Surgery
University of Alabama, Birmingham
E-mail: kirby.bland@ccc.uab.edu

Steven Bogen, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer
CytoLogix
E-mail: sbogen@cytologix.com

Gerry Boss, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Diego
E-mail: gboss@ucsd.edu

Graham Brock, Ph.D.
University of Glasgow
Anderson College 5
E-mail: gbrock@molgen.gla.ac.uk

Marcel Bruchez, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Quantum Dot Corporation
E-mail: mpbruchez@qdots.com

Kenneth Buetow, Ph.D.
Director
Center for Bioinformatics
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: buetowk@mail.nih.gov

Roger Bumgarner, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
University of Washington
E-mail: rogerb@u.washington.edu

Alma Burlingame, Ph.D.
Professor and Director
University of California, San Francisco
E-mail: alb@itsa.ucsf.edu

Susan Castillo, Ph.D.
Division Director
SRA International
E-mail: susancastillo@sra.com

Brian Chait, D.Phil.
Camille and Henry Dreyfus Professor
Rockefeller University
E-mail: chait@rockvax.rockefeller.edu

Jeff Chalmers, Ph.D.
Professor
Ohio State University
E-mail: chalmers.1@osu.edu

Wing Chan, M.D.
Professor
University of Nebraska Medical Center
E-mail: jchan@unmc.edu

Mark Chance, Ph.D.
Professor
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
E-mail: mrc@aecom.yu.edu

Zunxue Chang, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
University of Minnesota
E-mail: zchang@lenti.med.umn.edu

Mark Chee, Ph.D.
Vice President of Genomics
Illumina, Inc.
E-mail: mchee@illumina.com

Gary Churchill, Ph.D.
Scientist
The Jackson Laboratory
E-mail: garyc@jax.org

John Condeelis, Ph.D.
Professor and Director
Aecom
E-mail: condeeli@aecom.yu.edu

Barbara Conley, M.D.
Chief
Diagnostics Research Branch
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: conleyb@mail.nih.gov

Christopher Contag, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Stanford University
E-mail: ccontag@cmgm.stanford.edu

Jennifer Couch, Ph.D.
Program Director, Technology Development
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: jc332a@nih.gov

Sandra Dabora, M.D., Ph.D.
Instructor in Medicine
Division of Hematology
Brigham and Women's Hospital
E-mail: sdabora@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Carol Dahl, Ph.D.
Director
Office of Technology and Industrial Relations
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: carol_dahl@nih.gov

Norman Dovichi, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Washington
E-mail: dovichi@chem.washington.edu

Beth Drees, Ph.D.
Director, Biology
Echelon Research Laboratories
E-mail: b_drees@hotmail.com

Mark Duncan, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, Biochemical Mass Spectrometry
University of Colorado Cancer Center
E-mail: mark.duncan@uchsc.edu

Kay Etzler
SBIR/STTR Coordinator
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: etzlerk@mail.nih.gov

Daniel Farkas, Ph.D.
Professor
University of Pittsburgh
E-mail: farkas@engrng.pitt.edu

Ellen Feigal, M.D.
Deputy Director
Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: ef30d@nih.gov

David Fishman
Professor
Northwestern University
E-mail: dfishman@nmh.org

Paolo Fortina, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
E-mail: fortina@mail.med.upenn.edu

Jacques Fresco, Ph.D.
Professor
Lewis Thomas Laboratory
Department of Molecular Biology
E-mail: jrfresco@princeton.edu

Xiang-Dong Fu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
University of California, San Diego
E-mail: xdfu@ucsd.edu

Dan Gallahan, Ph.D.
Chief, SBMAB
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: dg13w@nih.gov

Xiaolian Gao, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Houston
E-mail: xgao@uh.edu

Harold Garner, Ph.D.
Professor
University of Texas Southwestern
E-mail: garner@swmed.edu

Peter Gascoyne, Ph.D.
Professor
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
University of Texas
E-mail: tself@dielectrophoresis.org

Terry Gaasterland
Assistant Professor
The Rockefeller University
E-mail: gaasterland@rockefeller.edu

Sandra Gaston, Ph.D.
Basic Science Director
Urological Research
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
E-mail: sgaston@caregroup.harvard.edu

John Gerdes, Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer
Xtrana, Inc.
E-mail: jgerdes@xtrana.com

Roger Giese, Ph.D.
Professor
Northeastern University
E-mail: r.giese@neu.edu

Sherwood Githens, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Administrator
Division of Extramural Activities
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: githenss@dea.nci.nih.gov

David Goldstein, Ph.D.
Program Administrator
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: goldsted@ncifcrf.gov

Val Golovlev, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
Sci-Tec, Inc.
E-mail: golovlev@aol.com

Jeffrey Griffith, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
School of Medicine
University of New Mexico
E-mail: jkgriffith@salud.unm.edu

Lynette Grouse, Ph.D.
Scientific Projects Manager
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: grouse1@nih.gov

Michael Gruidl, Ph.D.
Research Coordinator Cancer Prevention
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center
E-mail: gruidlme@moffitt.usf.edu

Baochuan Guo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Cleveland State University
E-mail: b.guo@csuohio.edu

Bassem Haddad, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Institute for Molecular and Human Genetics
Georgetown University Medical Center
E-mail: haddadb1@gunet.georgetown.edu

Toby Hecht, Ph.D.
Program Director, BRB
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: thecht@mail.ncifcrf.gov

George P. Hemstreet, III, M.D., Ph.D.
George Lynn Cross Research Professor of Urology
University of Oklahoma
E-mail: gphemstreet@hotmail.com

Dorothee Herlyn, D.V.M.
Professor
The Wistar Institute
E-mail: dherlyn@mail.wistar.upenn.edu

Tim Hui-Ming Huang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
Ellis Fischel Cancer Center
E-mail: Huangh@health.missouri.edu

Craig Hyde, Ph.D.
Special Assistant to the Director
Center for Cancer Research
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: hydec@mail.nih.gov

James W. Jacobson
Chief
Technology Development Branch
Cancer Diagnosis Program
Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: jj37d@nih.gov

Jonathan Jarvik, Ph.D.
Professor
Carnegie-Mellon University
E-mail: jarvik@cmu.edu

Daniel Jay, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Tufts University School of Medicine
E-mail: daniel.jay@tufts.edu

David Jaye, M.D.
Instructor
Emory University
E-mail: dljaye@emory.edu

George Johnson, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: johnsong@exchange.nih.gov

William Kaelin, Jr., M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Howard Hughes Medical Center
E-mail: william_kaelin@dfci.harvard.edu

Marvin R. Kalt, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Activities
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: mk74s@nih.gov

Tanya Kanigan, Ph.D.
Director of Chip Technology
BioTrove
E-mail: tkanigan@biotrove.com

Douglas Kankel, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Yale University
E-mail: douglas.kankel@yale.edu

Carol Kasten-Sportes, M.D.
Medical Officer and Geneticist
Clinical and Genetic Epidemiology Research Branch
Epidemiology and Genetics Research Program
Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: kastenca@mail.nih.gov

Francis Kern, Ph.D.
Director, Biochem and Molecular Biology
Southern Research Institute
E-mail: kern@sri.org

Ilan Kirsch, M.D.
Chair, Genetics Department
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: kirschi@exchange.nih.gov

Richard Klausner, M.D.
Director
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: klausner@helix.nih.gov

Alex Kogon, Ph.D.
President
Biolinx L.L.C.
E-mail: biolinx@intrepid.net

Matthias Kraus, M.D.
Research Associate Professor
University of Alabama, Birmingham
E-mail: matthias.kraus@ccc.uab.edu

Anantha Krishnan, Sc.D.
Program Manager
DARPA/MTO
E-mail: akrishnan@earthlink.net

Klaus Kunze, Ph.D.
Product Development Manager
Superior MicroPowders
E-mail: klaus@smp1.com

Kit Lam, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chief
Division of Hematology and Oncology
University of California Davis Cancer Center
E-mail: kit.lam@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Abraham Lee, Ph.D.
Senior Technology Advisor
Office of Technology and Industrial Relations
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: leeabe@mail.nih.gov

Stephen Lesko, Ph.D.
Director of Imaging
Cell Works, Inc.
E-mail: steve@cell-works.com

Richard Levenson, M.D.
Research Director
CRI, Inc.
E-mail: rlevenson@cri-inc.com

Paul Lizardi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Yale University School of Medicine
Department of Pathology
E-mail: paul.lizardi@yale.edu

Reuben Lotan, Ph.D.
Professor
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
University of Texas
E-mail: rlotan@mdanderson.org

Robert Lucito, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
E-mail: lucito@cshl.org

Tracy Lugo, Ph.D.
Program Director, DRB
Cancer Diagnosis Program
Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: tl82s@nih.gov

Arun Majumdar, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of California, Berkeley
E-mail: majumdar@me.berkeley.edu

Sergei Malkhosyan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
The Burnham Institute
E-mail: smalkhosyan@burnham.org

Chris Man, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Texas Children's Hospital
Baylor College of Medicine
E-mail: tkman@ural.wustl.edu

Cheryl Marks, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: cm74v@nih.gov

Deirdre Meldrum, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering
University of Washington
E-mail: deedee@ee.washington.edu

York Miller, M.D.
Professor of Medicine, SPORE co-PI
SPORE in Lung Cancer
University of Colorado
E-mail: york.miller@uchsc.edu

Suresh Mohla
Chief
Tumor Biology and Metastasis Branch
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: sm82f@nih.gov

Samuel Mok, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Brigham and Women's Hospital
E-mail: scmok@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Ed Monachino, M.S.E.E.
Senior Technology Manager
Office of Technology and Industrial Relations
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: monachie@mail.nih.gov

Eric Monson, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
University of Michigan
E-mail: emonson@umich.edu

David Morris, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Biochemistry
University of Washington
E-mail: dmorris@u.washington.edu

Catherine O'Connell, Ph.D.
Project Leader
National Institute of Standards and Technology
E-mail: coc@nist.gov

Seajin Oh, Ph.D
Senior Research Engineer
SRI International
E-mail: seajin.oh@sri.com

Maria Pallavicini, Ph.D.
Professor
University of California, San Francisco
E-mail: palla@cc.ucsf.edu

Elena Peletskaya, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
HIV Drug Resistance Program
Vector Design and Replication Section
Frederick Cancer Research and Development Center
E-mail: peletske@mail.ncifcrf.gov

Mark Perlin, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer
Cybergenetics
E-mail: perlin@cybgen.com

Daniel Pinkel, Ph.D.
Professor
University of California, San Francisco
E-mail: pinkel@cc.ucsf.edu

Indra Poola, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Howard University College of Medicine
E-mail: ipoola@howard.edu

Glenn Prestwich, Ph.D.
Professor
College of Pharmacy
University of Utah
E-mail: gprestwich@deans.pharm.utah.edu

John Michael Ramsey, Ph.D.
Group Leader/Corporate Fellow
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
E-mail: ramseyjm@ornl.gov

William Rom, M.D.
Professor
NYU School of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
E-mail: william.rom@med.nyu.edu

Stanley Shackney, M.D.
Director
Laboratory Cancer Cell Biology and Genetics
Allegheny-Singer Research Institute/Allegheny Gene
E-mail: shackney@wpahs.org

Dean Sherry, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry and Radiology
University of Texas, Dallas
E-mail: sherry@utdallas.edu

Michael Showe, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
The Wistar Institute
E-mail: showe@mail.wistar.upenn.edu

Branimir I. Sikic, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Oncology Division
Stanford University
E-mail: brandy@stanford.edu

Dinah Singer, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: ds13j@nih.gov

Robert Singer, Ph.D.
Professor
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
E-mail: rhsinger@aecom.yu.edu

Min Song, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: ms425z@nih.gov

Sudhir Srivastava, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Chief
Cancer Biomarkers Reserach Group
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: ss1a@nih.gov

Martin Stanton, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Brandeis University
E-mail: stanton@brandeis.edu

Robert Strausberg, Ph.D.
Director
Cancer Genomics Office
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: RLS@nih.gov

William Strauss, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Harvard Institute of Human Genetics
E-mail: wstrauss@hihg.med.harvard.edu

Saul Surrey, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Jefferson Medical College
Cardeza Foundation
E-mail: saul.surrey@mail.tju.edu

John Sutherland, Ph.D.
Senior Biophysicist
Biology Department
Brookhaven National Laboratory
E-mail: jcs@bnl.gov

James Swenberg, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Professor
University of North Carolina
E-mail: james_swenberg@unc.edu

Kathleen Sybert, Ph.D., J.D.
Chief
Technology Transfer Branch
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: sybertk@mail.nih.gov

Thomas Thundat, Ph.D.
Group Leader
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
E-mail: thundattg@ornl.gov

Peter Tolias, Ph.D.
Director
Center for Applied Genomics, Public Health Research
E-mail: tolias@phri.org

Timothy Triche, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair of Pathology
Childrens Hospital
University of Southern California
E-mail: triche@hsc.usc.edu

Jan Trnovsky, Ph.D.
Principal Scientist
One Cell Systems
E-mail: jan@onecell.com

Ching Tung, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Massachusetts General Hospital
E-mail: tung@helix.mgh.harvard.edu

Timothy Veenstra, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
E-mail: timothy.veenstra@pnl.gov

Suzanne Vernon, Ph.D.
Research Microbiologist
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
E-mail: svernon@cdc.gov

Marc Vidal, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Genetics
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Harvard Medical School
E-mail: marc_vidal@dfci.harvard.edu

Peter Vogt, Ph.D.
Professor
The Scripps Research Institute
E-mail: pkvogt@scripps.edu

Thomas Vollberg, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Administrator
Special Review and Resources Branch
Division of Extramural Activities
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: vollbert@mail.nih.gov

Susan Waldrop, B.A.
Director
Office of Scientific Opportunities
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: sw40j@nih.gov

Binghe Wang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
North Carolina State University
E-mail: binghe_wang@ncsu.edu

Yue Wang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of EECS
The Catholic University of America
E-mail: wang@pluto.ee.cua.edu

Barbara Weber, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Genetics
University of Pennsylvania
E-mail: weberb@mail.med.upenn.edu

Stephen Weeks, Ph.D.
Scientist
LifeSensors, Inc.
E-mail: weeks@lifesensors.com

Heinz-Ulrich Weier, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
E.O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
E-mail: ugweier@lbl.gov

Sherman Weissman, M.D.
Professor
Yale University School of Medicine
E-mail: sherman.weissman@yale.edu

Kenneth Wheeler, Ph.D.
Professor
Wake Forest University
Department of Radiology
E-mail: kwheeler@wfubmc.edu

Michael Wigler, Ph.D.
Professor
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
E-mail: wigler@cshl.org

Peter Wiktor, Ph.D.
Owner
Engineering Arts
E-mail: wiktor@engineering-arts.com

James Willey, M.D.
Professor
Medical College of Ohio
E-mail: jwilley@mco.edu

Robert Wind, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
E-mail: robert.wind@pnl.gov

Robert Wittes, M.D.
Deputy Director for Extramural Science
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: wittes@nih.gov

Michael Wright, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Institute for Systems Biology
E-mail: mwright@systemsbiology.org

Fumiichiro Yamamoto, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
The Burnham Institute
E-mail: fyamamoto@burnham.org

John Yates, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
The Scripps Research Institute
E-mail: jyates@scripps.edu

Bin Ye, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
BWH/Harvard Medical School
E-mail: Bin_ye@hms.harvard.edu

Xiaolin Zhang, Ph.D.
Technical Director
University of Pennsylvania
E-mail: xzhang@sas.upenn.edu

Gang Zheng, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Radiology Department
University of Pennsylvania
E-mail: zheng@rad.upenn.edu