Skip Navigation

1st Principal Investigators Meeting Participant Roster

1st Principal Investigators Meeting
Innovative Molecular Analysis Technologies Program
July 6-8, 2000
Westfields International Conference Center
Chantilly, Virginia

Participant Roster

Ruedi Aebersold, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Molecular Biotechnology
University of Washington
E-mail: ruedi@u.washington.edu

N. Leigh Anderson, Ph.D.
President and CEO
Large Scale Proteomics Corporation
E-mail: rich.clark@lsbc.com

Norman G. Anderson, Ph.D.
Chief Scientist
Large Scale Proteomics Corporation
E-mail: rich.clark@lsbc.com

Plamen Atanassov, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Superior MicroPowders
E-mail: plamen@smp1.com

Grace Ault, Ph.D.
Program Director
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: ga5k@nih.gov

Cynthia Bamdad, Ph.D.
CEO
Minerva Biotechnologies Corporation
E-mail: monopole@rocketmail.com

Robert Basedow, Ph.D.
Program Manager
Raytheon
E-mail: robert_w_basedow@raytheon.com

Scott Bennett, Ph.D.
Director
Research and Development
SRA International
E-mail: bennett@sra.com

Aaron Bensimon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Laboratoire de Biophysique de I'ADN
Pasteur Institute
E-mail: abensim@pasteur.fr

Steve Bogen, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer
CytoLogix Corporation
E-mail: sbogen@cytologix.com

Graham Brock, Ph.D.
University of Glasglow
Anderson College
E-mail: gbrock@molgen.gla.ac.uk

Diane Bronzert, Ph.D.
Program Director
Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program, DCTD
E-mail: bronzertd@ctep.nci.nih.gov

Kenneth Buetow, Ph.D.
Chief
Laboratory of Population Genetics, DCEG
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: buetowk@pop.nci.nih.gov

A. L. Burlingame, Ph.D.
Professor
University of California, San Francisco
E-mail: alb@itsa.ucsf.edu

Tauseef R. Butt, Ph.D.
President and CEO
LifeSensors, Inc.
E-mail: butt@lifesensors.com

Wai-wen Cai, Ph.D.
Research Associate
Department of Molecular and Human Genetics
Baylor College of Medicine
E-mail: wcai@bcm.tmc.edu

Elizabeth Cantwell, Ph.D.
Discipline Scientist
NASA Headquarters
E-mail: ecantwel@hq.nasa.gov

Susan Castillo, Ph.D.
Division Director
SRA, International
E-mail: susan_castillo@sra.com

Jeff Chalmers, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering
Ohio State University
E-mail: chalmers.1@osu.edu

Mark Chance, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
and Chemistry
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
E-mail: mrc@aecom.yu.edu

Mark Chee, Ph.D.
Vice President, Genomics
Illumina, Inc.
E-mail: mchee@illumina.com

Robert Clarke, Ph.D., D.Sc.
Professor of Oncology and Physiology
and Biophysics
Director, LCC Animal Research Resource
NRB W405A
Vincent T. Lombardi Cancer Center
Georgetown University
School of Medicine
E-mail: clarker@gunet.georgetown.edu

Barbara A. Conley, M.D.
Chief, Diagnostic Research Branch
Cancer Diagnosis Program
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: conleyb@mail.nih.gov

Jennifer Couch, Ph.D.
Program Director, Technology Development
Cancer Diagnosis Program
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: jc332a@nih.gov

Sandra Dabora, M.D., Ph.D.
Instructor
Division of Hematology
Brigham and Women's Hospital
E-mail: sdabora@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Carol Dahl, Ph.D.
Director
Office of Technology and Industrial Relations
Office of the Director
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: carol_dahl@nih.gov

Norman Dovichi, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Alberta
E-mail: norm.dovichi@ualberta.ca

Bevin Engelward, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Division of Bioengineering and
Environmental Health
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
E-mail: bevin@mit.edu

Terry Gaasterland, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Head
Laboratory of Computational Genomics
The Rockefeller University
E-mail: gaasterland@rockefeller.edu

Dan Gallahan, Ph.D.
Program Director
Cancer Biology Branch, DCB
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: dg13w@nih.gov

Harold Garner, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry and Internal
Medicine
McDermott Center
University of Texas
Southwestern Medical Center
E-mail: garner@swmed.edu

Sandra Gaston, Ph.D.
Instructor in Surgery
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
E-mail: sgaston@bidmc.harvard.edu

John Gerdes, Ph.D.
Vice President
Research and Development
Xtrana
E-mail: jgerdes@xtrana.com

Roger Giese, Ph.D.
Professor
Northeastern University
Mugar Building, Room 122
E-mail: rgiese@lynx.neu.edu

Sherwood Githens, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Administrator
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: sg175s@nih.gov

Susan Greenhut, Ph.D.
Technology Coordinator
Office of the Director
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: sg164m@nih.gov

Jeffrey Griffith, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Biochemistry and
Molecular Biology
University of New Mexico
E-mail: jkgriffith@salud.unm.edu

Lynette H. Grouse, Ph.D.
Cancer Research Training Award Fellow
Office of Strategic Technologies
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: grousel@nih.gov

Bassem Haddad, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Institute for Molecular and Human Genetics
Georgetown University Medical Center
E-mail: haddadb1@gunet.georgetown.edu

Amy Ham, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Environmental Sciences
and Engineering
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
E-mail: amy_ham@unc.edu

Robert D. Hammond, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Review Referral
Division of Extramural Activities
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: rh53k@nih.gov

Tim Hui_Ming Huang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Departments of Pathology and
Anatomical Sciences
Ellis Fischel Cancer Center
University of Missouri
School of Medicine
huangh@health.missouri.edu

Barbara Hughey, Ph.D.
Research Manager
Newton Scientific, Inc.
E-mail: bhughey@world.std.com

Jonathan Jarvik, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Carnegie Mellon University
E-mail: jarvik@cmu.edu

Daniel Jay, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Physiology
Tufts University
School of Medicine
E-mail: djay01@emerald.tufts.edu

Tanya Kanigan, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Bio-Instrumentation Laboratory
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
E-mail: tkanigan@mit.edu

Douglas Kankel, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and
Developmental Biology
Yale University
E-mail: douglas.kankel@yale.edu

James Keck, Ph.D.
Senior Director of Discovery
GeneTrace Systems, Inc.
E-mail: keck@genetrace.com

Richard D. Klausner, M.D.
Director
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: klausner@helix.nih.gov

Alex Kogon, Ph.D.
President
Biolinx, LLC
E-mail: biolinx@intrepid.net

Robert Kwiatkowski, Ph.D.
Director
Assay Development
Third Wave Technologies
E-mail: bkwiatkowski@twt.com

Eric Lader, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Research and Development
Ambion, Inc.
E-mail: elader@ambion.com

Cheng Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Maryland
E-mail: cl143@umail.umd.edu

Nadia Lifshitz, M.D.
Principal Investigator
Biophotonics Corporation
E-mail: nadia@ece.sunysb.edu

Marek Liyanage, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Aurora Biosciences Corp.
E-mail: LiyanageM@aurorabio.com

Paul Lizardi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
Yale University
School of Medicine
E-mail: paul.lizardi@yale.edu

Robert Lucito, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
E-mail: lucito@cshl.org

Tracy Lugo, Ph.D.
Program Director
Diagnostics Research Branch
Cancer Diagnosis Program, DCTD
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: tl82s@nih.gov

Robert Mach, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Radiology
Wake Forest University
School of Medicine
E-mail: rmach@wfubmc.edu

Arun Majumdar, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of California, Berkeley
E-mail: majumdar@me.berkeley.edu

G. Mike Makrigiorgos, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Harvard Medical School
E-mail: makri@jcrt.harvard.edu

Sergei Malkhosyan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
The Burnham Institute
E-mail: smalkhosyan@burnham_inst.org

Cheryl Marks, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: cm74v@nih.gov

Michael McClelland, Ph.D.
Director of Cell and Molecular Biology
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
E-mail: mmcclelland@skcc.org

Deirdre Meldrum, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering
University of Washington
E-mail: deedee@kant.ee.washington.edu

Suresh Mohla, Ph.D.
Chief
Tumor Biology and Metastasis Branch
Division of Cancer Biology
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: sm82e@nih.gov

Michael Mostert
Director of Assay Development
Echelon Research Laboratories
E-mail: mostertmik@aol.com

Robert Murphy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
Carnegie Mellon University
E-mail: murphy@cmu.edu

Maria Pallavicini, Ph.D.
Professor of Laboratory Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
E-mail: pallavicini@cc.ucsf.edu

Elena Peletskaya, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Biolinx LLC
E-mail: biolinx@intrepid.net

Mark Perlin, M.D., Ph.D.
CEO
Cybergenetics, Inc.
E-mail: perlin@cybgen.com

Glenn Prestwich, Ph.D.
Presidential Professor and Chair
Department of Medicinal Chemistry
University of Utah
E-mail: gprestwich@deans.pharm.utah.edu

J. Michael Ramsey, Ph.D.
Group Leader and Corporate Fellow
Chemical and Analytical Sciences Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
E-mail: ramseyjm@ornl.gov

Peter H. Rheinstein, M.D., J.D.
Senior Vice President for Medical
and Clinical Affairs
Cell Works, Inc.
University of Maryland Baltimore County
E-mail: peter@cell_works.com

Stanley Shackney, M.D.
Professor of Human Oncology
and Human Genetics
Allegheny_Singer Research Institute
E-mail: shackney@wphas.org

A. Dean Sherry, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry and Radiology
Department of Radiology
University of Texas
E-mail: sherry@utdallas.edu

Robert Singer, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Anatomy and Structural
Cell Biology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
E-mail: rhsinger@aecom.yu.edu

Paul Skipper, Ph.D.
Principal Research Scientist
Division of Bioengineering and
Environmental Health
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
E-mail: skipper@mit.edu

Richard Smith, Ph.D.
Chief Scientist
Environmental Molecular Science Laboratory
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
E-mail: rd_smith@pnl.gov

Min Song, Ph.D.
Program Director
Cancer Diagnosis Program, DCTD
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: ms425z@nih.gov

Martin Stanton, Ph.D.
Senior Research Associate
Brandeis University
E-mail: stanton@brandeis.edu

Marilyn Stapleton, Ph.D.
President
Gene Tec Corporation
E-mail: mstapleton@nc.rr.com

Robert Strausberg, Ph.D.
Director
Cancer Genomics Office
Office of the Director
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: rls@nih.gov

William Strauss, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Harvard Institute of Human Genetics
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
E-mail: wstrauss@hihg.med.harvard.edu

Mary Teruel, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist
Department of Molecular Pharmacology
Stanford University
E-mail: teruel1@stanford.edu

Peter Tolias, Ph.D.
Director
Center for Applied Genomics _ UMDNJ
Public Health Research Institute
E-mail: tolias@phri.org

Mukesh Verma, Ph.D.
Program Director
Cancer Biomarkers Research Group, DCP
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: mv66j@nih.gov

Marc Vidal, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Genetics
Dana_Farber Cancer Institute
E-mail: marc_vidal@dfci.harvard.edu

Susan Waldrop
Assistant Director for Program Coordination
Office of Scientific Opportunities
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: sw40j@nih.gov

Michael Wigler, Ph.D.
Investigator
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
E-mail: wigler@cshl.org

Peter Wiktor, Ph.D.
Owner
Engineering Arts
E-mail: wiktor@engineering_arts.com

Robert Wind, Ph.D.
Department of Environmental and Health
Sciences
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
E-mail: robert.wind@pnl.gov

Robert E. Wittes, M.D.
Director
Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: wittes@nih.gov

Mary Wolpert, Ph.D.
Chief
Grants and Contracts Operations Branch
Developmental Therapeutics Program,
DCTD
National Cancer Institute
E-mail: wolpertm@exchange.nih.gov

John Yates, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Cell Biology
The Scripps Research Institute
E-mail: jyates@scripps.edu

Maciej Zborowski, Ph.D.
Assistant Staff
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Learner Research Institute
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
E-mail: zborow@bme.ri.ccf.org